It’s raining in Scotland

It’s raining in Scotland
It must be a Monday
The dour dripping bus stop
The drowning of sunrays
Dreams of space travel
On hold once again
The bus arrives heaving
Sweaty sheep in a pen

It’s raining in Scotland

It must be a Tuesday

Rain’s joined by her sister

The unhinged one Windy

She’s snapped my umbrella

Slapped my poor face

The bald headed hairdo’s

All over the place

It’s raining in Scotland

It must be a Wednesday

Crazy Uncle Thunder

Has come out to play

They’re wreaking their havoc

On land, air and boat

I’m soaked through and witless

Despite Gore-tex coat

It’s raining in Scotland

It must be a Thursday

The sky’s full of rivers

In fifty shades of grey

So tie me up Windy

Whip me wet Rain

I draw the line at Uncle Thunder

As I don’t lean that way

It’s raining in Scotland

It must be a Friday

A moment of madness

Rumours of a fine day

Rapidly replaced by swirling mad clouds

Sun vanished completely

Was it ever around?

It’s raining in Scotland

The weekend is here

Rain’s upping the ante

To drown any cheer

We turn to the bottle

To dampen the rage

A country of sodden

Wet rats in a cage

But lookout

That one sunny day has arrived

Strip off now pronto

Never felt so alive

The pasties

The gingers

Are all lobsters by night

But something wet’s brewing

Arriving first light

 

